safe air, healing breath

I read the news today, oh boy…

Then I went outside with the road bike for a quiet rural road cycle. First ride in nearly two months since bronchitis’ grip and resting towards recovery. Air fresh, clean and cool filled my lungs, that happily strained to fill fully and take in the oxygen my legs progressively burned. Taking it easy, taking it slow. Along the way horses, cows, a few deer and I glance at each other briefly. Getting to the end of the canyon road, turning back and enjoying the pleasant winter moment, peddling closer to full rehabilitation. An hour and a half of happiness to have a body that mostly works.

My cycle may not make any other news, beyond this blog. But I’m feeling safe knowing that most people in the world are doing their best to make good news happen for themselves and others. May they succeed! My music video above is a wish that all feel safe wherever they are.

21 thoughts on “safe air, healing breath

  1. beeseeker

    HAPPY TO HAVE STUMBLED UPON YOUR BLOG, GETTING BACK ON A BIKE IS BOTH A GOOD SIGN AND ONE OF THE MOST DIFFICULT THINGS TO DO – AT THE SAME TIME.
    GOOD LUCK, KEEP PEDALLING!

    Reply
  2. Paul

    You never forget how to ride a bike, do you. Inspiring, positive post. I’m new to wordpress so this sounds strange to me, but… I’m now following you… that was weird.

    Reply
  3. PeaceLoveDas

    Great post, I try to remind myself despite the news on TV good news happens every day. Puppies are born, people are kind to each other, flowers bloom and all kinds of great stuff. The point is no matter how cloudy it is the sun is still shining behind them sometimes we have to squint but it is there.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      Funny how our minds quickly become forgetful to experience beauty. Fortunately there are bells of mindfulness. And kind reminders, like your comment, thanks.

      Reply
  4. permaprocess

    Happy to find your blog as I start my own centered around meditation and fasting. Peace and light to you, your entries are interesting and wise.
    P.s. I too am in love with the bicycle and the simple, quiet freedom it gives us 🙂

    Reply
  5. brucethomasw

    Hi David. Thought I would check out this older post of yours. I usually don’t watch the videos because we have a slow connection and it becomes annoying because it stops alot – but this time I discovered if I clicked on the low quality button, it works fine! And wow – I really enjoyed your song and the video you have created. Be here now is such a powerful mantra and it also reminded me of George Harrison who I loved – the John Lennon line at the beggining caught my eye too. Thanks for this good work you have done & best regards to you on this August day. Bruce

    Reply
  6. smilecalm Post author

    Thanks Bruce for finding a way to watch the clip. I wrote “I feel safe” as a chant while on retreat last year. It’s still a practice for me, to move towards fearlessness. I’ll bring my guitar along when staffing Thich Nhat Hanh’s Deer Park retreat in Oct, and perhaps another inspiration will manifest. Be well.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      i’m happy that you like the song. at the time it was an emphasis of my practice, to feel safe. lately I’ve been singing my recent song “it’s a gift” more often.

      Reply
  7. Tanya Watford

    You have liked a couple of my posts, which is how I found you. I very much enjoy the energy that pervades your blogging. There is an openness and a graceful simplicity that helps me find my own hope and stillness. I am fairly new to this journey, and I look forward to following yours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

