Your Gentle Reminder

matchbox altar D

matchbox altar D

If we want to enter Heaven
on Earth, we need only
one conscious step
and one conscious breath. ~Thich Nhat Hanh

Make a simple, personal reminder
of our sacred existence
of this sweet, short life
of the web of life’s interconnection of all things.

On the surface
these matchbook mini-altars
appear as cut and paste
magazine and ribbon
arts and crafts.

But as a reminder of who we really are
they become powerful tools of transformation.

Try it with friends!
Place it where it most needs to be seen.

29 thoughts on “Your Gentle Reminder

  1. Pingback: Your Gentle Reminder | nicseventysix's Blog

  2. nicseventysix

    I am very happy for you knowing you spent such a wonderful day! Yes, this is a wonderful idea! And a very good example of “spiritual crafting” (if not crafting is spiritual anyway). I am thankful to be able to start the quiet, sunny and cool Sunday morning looking at your wonderful photos and reading your and Thay’s words. May you have a wonderful day.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      Thank you for taking a moment to read, and offer kind words. You’re right that crafts, like everything else, is spiritual when we fully are present and behold our true nature. Be well.

      Reply
  3. Chris Cox

    Amazing; this simple and strangely relaxing post led somehow to 3 hours of straight reading from which I couldn’t disengage:
    Here –> Deer Park Monastery –> 14 Mindfulness Trainings –> Various Sangha pieces –> an amazing Bodhisattva article / breakdown.
    Have I ever mentioned that I love your blog?
    CC

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      I’m happy knowing that my little blog offers something for you. Wonderful that you have found inspiration in the teachings on Deer Park’s website. May you be happy, breath by breath.

      Reply
  4. ♡eM

    Smile, this is a crafty and wonderful way in which to honor our lives. I’m thinking of reusing the boxes of Annie’s Macaroni & Cheese the teen love eats her way through.
    Many thanks, and smiles!
    ♡eM

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      You’re always so kind eM! Now having a m&c sized box would have been just the right size for my craft skills. Have fun, breathe and smile.

      Reply
      1. Polly

        Hey thanks! For whatever it’s worth, the teaspoon or so of glue I encased the objects with dried and sealed them in, holding them beautifully, took a day or two. No problem 🙂

  5. heart lunge

    I love your tiny altars. so sweet and simple. I’ve made them in the past and now have some fresh inspiration for a weekend project. a bow to you.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      you’re very kind, dear one, to think that my blog is sweet. I will take a look at your link. I recall your blog having a sweetness.

      Reply
  6. nicseventysix

    Reblogged this on nicseventysix's Blog and commented:
    I keep going back to this outstanding blog post by my inspiring friend David. And I feel like telling you that I made such an altar almost right away after reading it …and it’s so so worth doing this! more on this to follow soon. Thank you David to share this wonderful Inspiration in words and visuals.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

