9 on a pain scale of 10

smile shirt

smile shirt

If we are peaceful, if we are happy, we can smile and blossom like a flower, and everyone in our family, our entire society, will benefit from our peace. ~Thich Nhat Hanh, from “Being Peace”

Very sorry to hear that you are not feeling so well today.

It would have been nice if we could enjoy this Thanksgiving food prepared by the kitchen staff. Looks like it was made with a lot of care and love. Just a small bite of pie, ok? Ok.

It was encouraging to hear of your progress over the last month in taking steps, with the help of a walker and physical therapist. Almost five minutes of walking, one slow step at a time.

empty chair view

empty chair view

But now arthritis has flared up, making it hard to move arms and legs. You’ve had this condition many years, keeping it in check by receiving a treatment every few months. Unfortunately the staff here at the rehabilitation center were not aware of this long-term treatment. Now, they have arranged for you to get the infusion, but it won’t be for another week. In the mean time the nurse is preparing a hydrocortisone shot for pain management. I wish I could offer something else, mother. It’s sad to hear you say it’s the worst pain of your life. A 9 or 10 out of 10 on the pain scale.

I’m wearing this “breathe” shirt today as a reminder for us to pay attention to our in and out breaths. I’m glad that you have practiced conscious breathing, with your hand on your tummy, and it helps you relax and not notice pain, so much. It is enjoyable to be here and breathe together, isn’t it? I know you are not feeling hungry, but would you like another small bite of pumpkin pie?

too sick to eat turkey

too sick to eat turkey

In gratitude for the gift of eyes and ears I share this amazing clip. A true inspirational 9 minute talk for the heart and senses. In every moment there are countless reasons to be grateful. Nature’s beauty can be easily missed — but not through Louie Schwartzberg’s lens. His stunning time-lapse photography, accompanied by powerful words from Benedictine monk Brother David Steindl-Rast, serves as a meditation on being grateful for every day.

27 thoughts on “9 on a pain scale of 10

  1. brucethomasw

    Smile calm – I am with you in feeling the suffering of your mother, and the love you give and share in your solidarity with her admidst the 1st noble truth. Thanks David.

    I look forward to watching the video of gratefulness. We are all clothed in a single garment.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      Appreciate your empathetic words, Bruce. It’s helpful to have encouragement on this journey. Hope you enjoy the inspiring clip, what ever we’re wearing 🙂

      Reply
  2. ♡eM

    Oh, my Smile, I am so glad to read that you are able to be grateful even during such a painful time. You are amazing, Smile. May your mother be free from pain. May pain leave you both and may pleasure arrive. Thank you for sharing this talk. I have viewed it before, and appreciate viewing it again now.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      I’m grateful that you find my post’s and regularly offer empathy, which supports my smile. I will pass along your kindness when I call my mother. This is a follow up from “I will remember for you”. Breathing and smiling and thankful.

      Reply
      1. ♡eM

        I just found I Will Remember For You. I sometimes get overwhelmed sifting through the Reader, missing good posts altogether. Thank you for pointing me in its direction.

      2. smilecalm Post author

        you’re kind to shuffle into older posts and offer kindness. my mother is a trooper, withstanding much illness. I have hope she her well-being will improve, thanks.

  3. Mary Ann Barton

    The gratitude video was so beautiful. I am truly grateful for your wonderful post about your mother, her life and her pain in the moment. My mother died nearly three years ago, the day before her 102nd birthday. She suffered from arthritis, especially during periods of her life when she lived in coastal areas: Napa, California, and Portsmouth, New Hampshire. May your mother find comfort.

    Reply
  4. Alison

    Hello smliecalm. Just that name touches me. And this story about your mother and the two of you breathing together. And the story of the homeless people living in a van. Moved by the simple and universal humanity. We are all one and I believe that there is a time when we all know it. My favourite – Zen Lion lives love fiercely, with diligence & ease. Today I will be the Zen Lion.
    Thank you for visiting our blog, and for the ‘like’ on the post about our journey to Antofagasta.
    Blessings
    Alison

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      Thank you for such kind words, Alison. I enjoyed learning about your adventure! May the journey continue joyously with well-being and safety 🙂

      Reply
      1. Alison

        Thank you. And thank you for following our blog. I hope you enjoy the stories of our journey, both inner and outer.
        Blessings
        Alison

Leave a Reply

