May I have the courage to say what needs to be said

Some people never say those words, “I love you”
it’s not their style to be so bold.
Some people never say those words, “I love you”
but like a child they’re longing to be told. ~Paul Simon, from Something so Right

contemplating this

contemplating this

May I have the courage to say what needs to be said
at life’s most important, as well as mundane moments.
Not missing opportunities to share with those around me
how valuable their presence is to me, with words and a smile.

May I have the courage to say what needs to be said
when passing strangers on the street, while walking or cycling.
Offering a hello, good morning, how ya doing?
Expressing kindness, that their day goes well.

May I have the courage to say what needs to be said
encountering another down and out soul
suffering economic disparity, unemployment, homelessness, despair.
Are you hungry, friend, can I buy you some food?

May I have the courage to say what needs to be said
encountering anger, violence and acts of destruction.
Not turning away from the pain and injustice
protecting those vulnerable, staying stable and calm.

May I have the courage to say what needs to be said
expressing regrets for foolish words to loved ones
and telling them that they are loved
so that they unmistakably feel it.

60 thoughts on “May I have the courage to say what needs to be said

  1. afellowsapient

    Thank you for reminding me not to forget what needs to be said. Always speaking mindfully of course, even in the heat of anger.

    Reply
  2. viewpacific

    Well said, and with wonderful photos. Thanks for your courage in posting this.
    Isn’t love expressed in so many other ways in addition to those three little words?

    Reply
  3. β™‘eM

    May I join you in having this courage. Smile, this is a lovely post. Thank you. I appreciated the photo of the labyrinth, as I have been contemplating building one. I’ve been working at enlisting my love’s help, as he has strong, loving hands, and a back that bends easily. Happy day to you!

    Reply
      1. β™‘eM

        I just want the peace in walking the journey. But of course I’d be joyful at the end too. Perhaps it will be so thrilling, I’ll get right back in line to walk it again, like a kid on a roller coaster.

  4. francisguenette

    Keeping silent,
    The moment passes.
    Too late to go back,
    Too late to say the words I wanted to say.
    I’ll look stupid, the other will wonder why I didn’t speak sooner.
    Then the revelation – it is not too late, it is never too late.
    I hold onto courage, run back and let my words tumble out.
    Warm eyes smile back at me – a hand reaches out.
    All will be well, and all will be well, and all manner of things will be well.
    (You inspire me to be lyrical my dear Smilecalm.)

    Reply
  5. Tom Cummings

    The verse you quote from Paul Simon’s “Something So Right” has always been one of my favorites for its moving and powerful insight. The courageous intentions this verse has inspired in you are equally moving and powerful. Thanks for sharing them!

    Reply
  6. Genie

    I agree, in principle, however, in my experience as a woman, it’s best to be cautious. The reason being is that saying the truth and being kind can give predatory people the signal that you are open to them and they can and do pounce on ones’ energy and sometimes, try and pounce on the body. I have had to take Karate-type of self-defense courses to protect myself. So, I am wary and walk like I live in New York; I don’t make eye contact nor do I talk to strangers; even in small towns.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      i empathize with your truth, Genie.
      just spent the day in oakland
      nothing like the peace i have here in the country.
      wishing you peace in your heart, with each calm breath πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. Kelly Kuhn

    Lovely. Thank you. I’m reminded of Louis Armstrong singing:
    I see friends shaking hands
    saying “How do you do?”
    They’re really saying
    “I love you”

    Sometimes it takes tremendous courage to say that, as you state so beautifully.

    I remember when my mom and I started saying “I love you” to each other. It happened after I told her about the work I had done to heal the scars from her parenting (and lack thereof). She was very gracious and supportive (something I did not expect but deeply appreciated), and for the following 10 years, we could say we loved each other. During the last 18 months of her life, when we knew cancer was taking her away, we said “I love you” every time we saw each other, and it was so beautiful.

    Reply
  8. Dugutigui

    Sometimes I want to say, β€œI love you, but…” Yet the β€œbut” takes away the β€œI love you”, as I believe love is a word used too much and much too soon. πŸ™‚ Beautiful post!

    Reply
  9. MyKoruLifestyle

    Thanks for stopping by my blog MyKoruLifestyle.com. This post is wonderful. I don’t believe my mom and I have ever said “I love you” to each other. I say it constantly to my kids and grandkids, and to “G”. My mom and I have a mother/daughter relationship; not a friend relationship. You have inspired me to gain the strength to say these small, but powerful, words to her.

    Reply
  10. Judson

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and “liking” my music … I enjoyed your post because, like Paul Simon, my music is largely lyrics-driven. As somewhat of a late bloomer, I have decided that I have totally missed the curve for commercial success, I am entirely satisfied with artistic satisfaction that comes from small, but important bits of encouragement. My motto is a quote from Oliver Wendell Holmes, who said, “”Alas for those that never sing, But die with all their music in them!”. Best of luck to you in the future … Judson

    Reply
  11. ShethP

    Such a touching thought… May I have the courage to say what needs to be said. You have expressed the sentiment so well… It’s truly a challenge to overcome indifference and start expressing your feelings again. Thank you for posting this! It has given me a little push and I might just have been given the courage to say what needs to be said. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

