Meditative Walk in Beauty!

Are you paying attention to me, Feet say to Mind.
Mind abruptly stops its chatter momentarily to say
I know you are there. Of course I know.
Feet respond that they would like to feel mind’s presence.
Mind says there are many important things
for me to think, to remember, to plan.
You are so clever, thinking highly of yourself
and the endless seductive ideas that pop
on and off of your screen, says Feet.
Please offer me your full attention
and together we will walk in freedom,
free from illusions and ignorance,
free to truly love and feel loved
free to fully embrace and enjoy
the miracle of walking in beauty
on this precious planet
at this very wonderful moment.

Helped by mindful breath’s calming
Mind smiles while letting go of its thinking
and experiences the miracle
of being alive
walking with Feet.

being present for the gift

being present for the gift ~d nelson

Walking Meditation

Take my hand.
We will walk.
We will only walk.
We will enjoy our walk
without thinking of arriving anywhere.
Walk peacefully.
Walk happily.
Our walk is a peace walk.
Our walk is a happiness walk.

Then we learn
that there is no peace walk;
that peace is the walk;
that there is no happiness walk;
that happiness is the walk.
We walk for ourselves.
We walk for everyone
always hand in hand.

Walk and touch peace every moment.
Walk and touch happiness every moment.
Each step brings a fresh breeze.
Each step makes a flower bloom under our feet.
Kiss the Earth with your feet.
Print on Earth your love and happiness.
Earth will be safe
when we feel in us enough safety.
from:Β Call Me by My True Names: The Collected Poems of Thich Nhat Hanh

walking together in beauty

walking together in beauty

 

 

47 thoughts on “Meditative Walk in Beauty!

  1. β™‘eM

    Before me, behind me, above me, below me, and within me. My being is an expression of beauty. Beauty is the walk. I intend to remind myself of this today, as I walk in nature, and as I breathe and think and feel and speak and do. Thank you for sharing this beautiful song and words. Smiles! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Eric Tonningsen

    And it’s not simply the mind connecting with the feet. The mind more often ought to consider the joy and value in connecting with each of the senses. Such a walk, then, could become a sensory potpourri. Lovely words and encouragement, David.

    Reply
  3. janyasilad

    I think I need just that… except that when I’m poised to reach a destination, I could only afford to be half-aware. My mind is buzzing with reading signs and streets 😦 So much for becoming a ‘foreigner.’

    Reply
  4. Soul Fields

    Hehee for the feet talking to the mind. πŸ™‚ Mine will walk to the sea to gaze at the Supermoon in the evening (Scandinavian time). Thanks again for a delicious post altogether.

    Reply
  5. Karen Wan

    Beautiful. I needed this reminder to listen to my feet!

    There is so much wisdom in everything you write. Your words and videos help me to pause and return to peace!:)

    Reply
  6. harulawordsthatserve

    Beautiful, humble, wise and refreshing. There is such loving, gentle humour in having a conversation with feet, for they do talk, as does everyone and everything around us…trick is to listen. Soothing and smile inducing…thank you! Hugs, Harula xxx

    Reply
  7. chelawriter

    You beautifully describe my several walks a week, along a dirt road through cattle pasture looking out to the Great Plains as I go, to the Rockies as I come back. Mind has learned to love this journey with Feet and our Inner Master as a constant companion.

    Reply
  8. Sonnische

    Thank you so much for this lovely post, for the video with its amazing imagery and music, and Thay’s poem about walking meditation. This is wonderful. And also thank you for stopping by to like my blog on Meditation in the Garden. May you be happy, may you be healthy, may you be safe, may you be at ease. Hugs, Sunny

    Reply
  9. anchorrock4

    As usual, this is an inspirational post, Eric. The times I have allowed myself to meditate have been my most creative moments. I also have begun to pamper my feet more. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

