mindfulness of squealing

worn down tires

worn down tires

Before starting the car
I know where I’m going.
The car and I are one.
If the car goes fast, I go fast.  ~Thich Nhat Hanh

dearest passenger

dearest passenger

To show I care for you
my most precious cargo,
I will slow down,
be no closer than
one car length per 10 miles per hour
following other vehicles,
and travel at a safe speed.
Please do not fear.

In a past lifetime
I drove crazy,
spinning donuts
in the parking lot,
racing at green light’s spark
crossing multiple lanes
to take an off-ramp
failing to consider the
two-thirty-seconds of an inch
of rubber between me
and the hard, sharp
of pavement, steel and glass.

Through deaths and near deaths
I now humbly understand how to appropriately
express my deepest aspiration
of non-harming
while focusing on controlling
a vehicle of compassionate action
and not a powerful weapon of destruction
of myself, loved ones, strangers, bicyclists,
pedestrians and innocent by-standers.

May we all have peaceful get-a ways
in our get away cars.

26 thoughts on “mindfulness of squealing

  1. Sonnische

    Reblogged this on sonnische and commented:
    This post was waiting in my inbox this morning, and it got me off to a great start for the day! All I love and even those I don’t are along with me for the ride, so to speak. My carelessness could cause untold suffering, my own included. May all beings be free from suffering, and may I use my own powerful energies for good as best I can every moment. May we all be peaceful, happy and light in body and spirit!

    Reply
  2. Genie

    Very few people appreciate and even know the value of good tires. I have seen lives gone and lives saved — all over people’s choice of tires.

    Reply
  3. janyasilad

    Being mindful how one becomes ‘one’ with the vehicle is
    active. 🙂
    Being passive, on the other hand, spells indifference,
    which eventually manifests itself to become a disaster.

    Reply
  4. Marty

    Before starting the car
    I know where I’m going.
    The car and I are one.
    If the car goes fast, I go fast. ~Thich Nhat Hanh

    . Love this. Let us make it a little more out of our control, let us say we are in an airplane.

    Now we are one with the plane, the pilot has control of our lives. Or the plane.
    .
    We have lost total control of our security our safety, unless we are a pilot.
    .
    Much different than having our feet on the ground and capable of controlling life much more.

    Reply
  5. francisguenette

    As someone who only got behind a wheel later in life, I’ve often been stunned by the number of people who don’t take seriously the risks to self and others of being distracted while driving. It is as if being wrapped in that cocoon of steel makes some drivers immune to the knowledge that they are hurtling through space at high speed. Mindful driving should be part of every driver’s education program out there. Great post and those green tires really caught my eye.

    Reply
      1. our sacred breath

        My pleasure! I moved from a large city to a small town almost 10 years ago. Life is at a slower pace. Especially driving! I have learned to slow down, enjoy the drive and be mindful. I enjoyed your post!

Leave a Reply

