Dharma Rain on the Climate Train, Climate March & Flood Wall Street

Meditation is not meant to help us avoid problems or to run away from difficulties.
It is meant to allow positive healing to take place.
To meditate is to learn how to stop – to stop being carried away by our regrets about the past,
our anger or despair in the present, or our worries about the future.  ~Thich Nhat Hanh

Thank you grandma for offering your presence
with the masses who took action
so that a future would be possible for us.
People taking action, even when elected leaders would not.
You looked so happy carrying your sign
“there is no planet B”
next to friends’ signs
“tar sands are for losers”
and “Grandmas Against Global Warming.”

Thank you grandpa for riding on the people’s climate train with hundreds of others
attending dozens of workshops about the environmental causes and conditions in 2014.
Those actions, prayers and meditations helped
wake up grassroots within the collective consciousness.
To reduce carbon emissions and slow the warming
moving away from the  fossil-fuel economy.
To peacefully transition to a resilient, sustainable
co-existence with our brother and sisters of all species.

rose at 9/11 memorial ~d nelson

rose at 9/11 memorial ~d nelson

Without your loving, courageous actions
the planet might have warmed so much,
seas rose so high,
that we would not be here
to enjoy the beautiful wonders
of life.
Thank you for having the insight
to have beautiful continuations.

Happy to return to my blogosphere friends
and hope you enjoy the video account of dharma in action ~david

37 thoughts on “Dharma Rain on the Climate Train, Climate March & Flood Wall Street

  1. Sonnische

    Reblogged this on sonnische and commented:
    If you read nothing else today, if you view no other media today, please go to David’s blog post to view his amazing video about the Dharma Train to the Climate March of September 15, 2014 and the March itself. David is a fellow Buddhist blogger who shares my view about people, the planet, suffering and the 8 Noble truths. He has interviewed Buddhist monks, nuns and laypeople, seniors and the young hope for our future. Go to his blog, and view the video. Do it now! Namaste, Sonnische

    Reply
  2. Sonnische

    David, I loved the video! Thank you so much for producing and presenting this amazing tribute to the cause and those engaged in it. I reblogged it to my followers today and linked to it on Twitter. I feel one with you all and know that my feet are truly now on the right path. As Thay has taught us, “Peace Is Every Step.” Have a beautiful day and be well, my friend. Hugs, Sonnische

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      I appreciate your kind words and sharing, Sonnische!
      The views expressed by those dharma friends I encountered on the train and in the marches are in line with my own beliefs. So wonderful to to experience them and witness their integrity and conviction to benefit all beings. Wishing you happy steps today 🙂

      Reply
  3. John Coleman

    Well, hi there, my dear Smilecalm. So good to see you again. We must have a harmonic convergence going. I was watching your wonderful video when your “like” chimed on my iPhone. That video was a gift I needed. Thanks and peace, John

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      How wonderful to have simultaneous exchanges, John! Thanks for letting me know, as I’m not on-line so much. Enjoyed reading of your heartfelt family life. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Polly

    Dear Brother David, Thank you for your gifts of sharing, seeing and action. I enjoyed this piece and the wonderful video! How heartening to see the maha community come together and water the seeds of coming together & right action. A treat to see familiar faces and ones I haven’t met yet too. I’m happy you could go and happy to get to experience the content in such an intimate fashion—thank you for bringing this back to us! Much joy & appreciation, happy wishes for a day of beauty & peace to you!

    Reply
    1. Polly

      Also—this past week I got to see Al Gore speak, and feel very encouraged around the ripening conditions to heal and preserve our precious planet! We can do it!

      Reply
      1. smilecalm Post author

        I heard Gore and other important people were at the march. I was happy to be surrounded by so many others. All encouragement, is good 🙂

    2. smilecalm Post author

      Happy to hear from you, my friend Polly! It was an amazing and inspiring journey. Quite a privilege to attend as well as capture the words of many inspiring people. Wishing you a gentle, happy moment 🙂

      Reply
  5. harulawordsthatserve

    Hello David, and welcome back – so lovely to see you here in the blogosphere again, and with such a beautiful and inspiring post. Watching the video (and I’ll come back for the second half, my internet connection keeps cutting out…) brought tears to my eyes and spoke deeply to me. Mostly I was impressed by the smiles, joy, sincerity and sense of hope. I am so touched by, and appreciative of the fact that these wise and wonderful folk have already done so much work that they can bring their peaceful, authentic loving presence to such painful and complex issues. It makes me realise that I still have work to do and at the same time gives me courage that the path of the dharma will help me come to a place of deep acceptance that is no less compassionate, engaged and at service for that acceptance. I hope that makes sense. Thank you my friend for sharing such wisdom and beauty – I treasure your posts. Hugs, Harula xxx

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      Thank you for your camaraderie, Harula
      on this journey of wonder, exploration
      and trying the heal the wounds, big and small.
      May we continue finding joy and hope,
      breath by breath
      hug by hug!
      smiles 🙂

      Reply
  6. bruce thomas witzel

    David. The Thich Nhat Hahn quote is empowering, as is remembering the climate action march.. I love the photo of imagining at strawbery fields and I will savour the video over the next week. Francis and I are just beginning a bit of an rejuvenating vacation through southern BC and Alberta. Peace and love to all. Bruce

    Reply
  7. elisepeeples

    Wow, David, what a wonderful video. I wasn’t able to be there, but now I feel that I participated in some way in the energy of it. I love the interspersing of images throughout the train ride across the country. As if that land and those trees and birds were coming along too. Thank you, thank you!

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you Louise
      for your kind words! I’m glad it offered a positive impression of the inspiring journey. certainly including the land the creatures along the way. smiles, david

      Reply
  8. kellie@writingmoment

    Co-exist with our brothers and sisters of all species…what a wonderful thought. I love one of the comments on the video too, that mentioned being one with all people, animals, plants, mountains. Lovely.

    Reply
      1. smilecalm Post author

        hello mira,
        enjoyed your sweet posts.
        for some reason the images on your last post don’t show up in internet explorer or google chrome.

      2. smilecalm Post author

        i think is was “mistakes”
        but images appear fine now, which is nice.
        since i tried looking on a couple browsers i thought to tell you. but the blogging universe now seems back in order 🙂

Leave a Reply

