Earth & Sky Leaning Upon Each Other

bird on a wire ~d nelson

bird on a wire ~d nelson

With conditions just right
our birds’ consciousness
touches suchness, nirvana,
the true nature of all phenomenon.
Observer and observed,
creation and creator,
suffering and compassion,
fear and safeness,
left and right
co-arising simultaneously;
just as earth & sky
lean upon each other
for their existence.

With insight of interbeing
our bird
is truly
free.

sky'd redwoods

sky’d redwoods

Reality, as it is, is called suchness. Suchness means, ‘it is like that.’ You cannot describe it in terms of notions, especially notions of birth and death, being and non-being, coming and going. No word, no idea, no notion can describe reality: the reality of a table, the reality of a flower, the reality of a house, the reality of a living being. To meditate means to be invited on a journey of looking deeply in order to touch our true nature and to recognize that nothing is lost. Because of this we can overcome fear. The ultimate is the foundation of our being, the ground of being…….” ~Thich Nhat Hanh

autumn earth & sky

autumn earth & sky

44 thoughts on “Earth & Sky Leaning Upon Each Other

  1. Geneviève Ariès

    Sing it, brother! Hallelujah, life is innately good, it’s made of light, that is also an illusion, one another level, because there is a nyterious emptiness, that is alive!

    Reply
      1. Geneviève Ariès

        Yippe, Yahoo, Lalalala, is Laila, aha, I sing with you.
        A song of life’s glory and exquiste transience, its ephemeralness a butterfly with rainbow wings.

    1. smilecalm Post author

      Thank you Chris for making me aware!
      Thay often interchanges suchness with God.
      And I’ve heard him say, “these are only words, don’t get caught in them.” 🙂

      Reply
  2. robert87004

    I still remain in a state where I don’t wish to ever lose my individual consciousness, so hold on to some small fear, always. This is where this all becomes difficult for me.

    Reply
  3. The GMLA

    I saw a video of one of your retreats on YOUTUBE. I was so interested I brought it up to my Mr. Impeccable. Of coarse whither he is interested or not I am. When I find the time which will be not be long I am interested in participating to see what you have. Looked like my kind of church. Not interested in converting from non-denominational only participating and learning news ways. Your Master appears wise and good conversation, addresses.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for your kind reflection, GMLA!
      many find peaceful well-being living mindfully. Thich Nhat Hanh is known as a great teacher and example. There are other teachers of mindfulness that can be of benefit, that have stripped away Buddhist terms and sound less religious. you might check out http://www.mindful.org/mindful-magazine for example. Wishing you a happy day 🙂

      Reply
      1. The GMLA

        Thanks Not for now but I will check it out. When funds allow I, being human, need calming times too. I hope to include my daughter and Mr. Impeccable too.

  4. The GMLA

    You did mention about a year ago you are in the bay area. I will be in in the Reno, NV and Kern area with some Sacramento in-between soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

