Seeing Love’s Reflection Makes Me Happy

sparkling red rose with delft bulbs ~ d nelson

sparkling red rose with delft bulbs ~ d nelson

Dutch bulbs hang softly
decorating my holiday
red rose-bush
who sparkles
sunshine’s radiant
gift of love
for life on earth.
I’m humbly grateful
to be here
& truly see,
to behold
this miracle.

sparkling red bud

sparkling red bud

Several weeks of raining
drought healing from the heavens
transforming parched earth
into emerald grass & oak hills.
Even on debris-filled lake
it’s a wonderful gift
paddling into sparkling diamonds
alive in this present moment;
welcoming winter’s
what’s new.

Do not just look for what you want to see, that would be futile.
Do not look for anything, but allow the insight to have a chance to come by itself.
That insight will help liberate you. ~Thich Nhat Hanh

49 thoughts on “Seeing Love’s Reflection Makes Me Happy

  1. Sonnische

    I love the rose bush, its red buds and blooms, and the delft bulbs hung amid the leaves. For some reason I cannot quite fathom, this reminds me of my dad, gone these almost 30 years. He loved this time of year. It can be a time of nostalgia for me, and this year more one of joy. In part the joy and ease where once there was regret, anxiety, grief and pain, comes from the Insight That Brings Us to the Other Shore. “Ill-being, the end of Ill-Being, the Path, insight and attainment, are also not separate self-entities.” I can let go of the past and the troubles among family members in the present, and savor the love of those who spend these winter days lighting our lives by their presence. Thank you for this artful conduit to my pondering, David. Hugs, Sonnische

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for sharing your true reflection, Sonnische! somehow those bulbs bring back memories of Amsterdam, of life and love, gone, but not forgotten.
      now to hang in the warm winter sunshine of my calif heart for all to see, in their blueness 🙂

      Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      makes me happy hearing
      that these posts are happy &helpful
      for you, livingonchi!
      it helps me
      to look in and out
      and share something
      from time to time 🙂

      Reply
  2. The GMLA

    I really like the outdoors pictures you post. In this the rose. I have a sincere weakness for their beauty. Some things in nature you just have to stop and look. Nature has its ways. The rose so beautiful but thrones claim their boundary in how to hold them.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for kindly sharing, my friend!
      only occasionally do i take out the camera
      but i’m happy that it captures the beauty before me.
      while frost hit the rose, it’s memory lingers 🙂

      Reply
  3. imaginenewdesigns12

    Thank you for liking “Star Trails.” Wonderful post! 🙂 I like pictures of beautiful flowers, scenery, and reflections. I also like the Thich Nhat Hanh quote. Your thoughts about “drought healing” brought to mind how that we really need more rain here in California. If we do not get enough rain this winter, we may have water rationing here again.

    Reply
  4. marlainpa

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I love your thoughts here about beauty and healing. In this chaotic world it helps to go to a calm and peaceful place, even for a moment, and experience a bloom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

