Who Asked for this Colorful Thought?

chevy hood ~d nelson

By water’s edge
savoring just sitting.
Well, also relishing
each deep in-breath’s
calm body hug
despite nose-tickling pollen
in the air & lake.

resting kayak

resting kayak in lake’s January pollen

Distant calls of water fowl
& a fresh, light breeze
are broken
by a loud gas-powered auto engine
idling, then revving up,
near-by, again, again.

Ok now, it’s just sounds
albeit unpleasant…
in, out, in, out…

After several relaxing
calm, deep breaths
of air’s cool refreshment,
sound’s affect become neutral
renewing mind’s mostly stillness.

chevy tail 4

chevy tail 4

Mind’s spark plugs ignite recalling
neighbor’s custom, classic Chevy.
Bright red paint
with sparkling chrome
produced the year I was born.
Who asked for that thought?

If I had such a car
what color would it be?
What would people think
staring as I cruise by?
And given our same age,
am I as classic, shiny & muscular
as that colorful Chevy?

Smiling to mind’s sudden inflate-gate,
seemingly random
desirous delusional thoughts,
poof…
as patient concentration gently
renews mindful breaths
such that sitting just
to sit by water’s edge
returns to peaceful calm
until time to paddle home.

 “When we meditate, we practice looking deeply in order to bring light and clarity into our way of seeing things. When the vision of no-self is obtained, our delusion is removed. This is what we call transformation.” ~Thich Nhat Hanh

47 thoughts on “Who Asked for this Colorful Thought?

  1. Sarah

    I find that most of the time the thoughts that entice me away whilst meditating are quite dull and mundane – worries and plans. The colourful, beguiling thoughts come when I am able to be stiller and quieter than usual. They are more tempting to follow and elaborate upon. They feel more worthy of attention because they engage my creativity. How can I let them go? Should I let them go? Your post reminded me of this, and gave me an opportunity to reflect on it. I can let them go now. Thank you. I love your photos; the beautiful colours and retro shapes.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you Sarah, for sharing your colorful thought! sometimes they linger longer & can be entertaining. but i can’t say, “it’s not my thought!”

      Reply
  2. AC

    I don’t let the wandering thoughts bug me. I do my best to let them go, some days with greater or lesser success. I think it’s the act of letting them go, or at least holding them loosely, that provides the greatest benefit from meditation.

    Reply
  3. Michael

    Lovely, David. Having just returned from my fourth jaunt into 11 deg F weather in the past several days to clear snow from the site of our domestic outpost on this strange planet, it was quite a shock to read of January pollen and hear the sound of outboard engines revving through your words. It came as a clarion reminder of how deep the mind’s assumptions and habits run. There is a whole scene, a whole sky– either of gathering clouds or clear blue– that forms a little world around our awareness. Then we return to the breath, and pierce that snow globe envelope, discover the skies which have no color…

    Michael

    Reply
  4. mk

    If I’m not mistaken, those were made in 56? I do love those old Chevrolet’s, though they’re not as old as me.

    I really enjoyed your post, and most especially the mention of the ego-souffle thought. How nice to see that you simply notice, and carry on.

    Reply
  5. milliethom

    A lovely calm-inducing read. I love all those old cars and would happily cruise around, meditating, all day. But then, sitting by the water’s edge sounds so much more tranquil.

    Reply
  6. islandrain2013

    I really appreciate how meditation flows inside your poetry….with a sense of patience. It’s that last loving bit to oneself that leads down the path of transformation….at least for me. Thank you David for sharing this….it brings me to a place of self-compassion.
    Namaste,
    Salem

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for gently supporting my mindful practice, Salem. it’s pleasant when flowing easily. I’m glad the post has something to offer you. May you day be well, david 🙂

      Reply
  7. LadyPinkRose

    Many times when I am behind my camera, I step into the Zen moment, the state of non-BEing. When I lay curled up next to one of my cats, I again slip into non-Being. When I disappear into music, another way I merge into One. Yoga class …. when I really focus on breath, I am no longer here. All different means to meditate … I use them all and more. Great post. The quote has given me much to ponder upon as has your words. Thank you. Love, Amy

    Reply
  8. Geneviève

    Love the kayak …so much fun… there’s the way to get rid of unwanted thoughts …get out in nature, for me, anyway.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      you & me both, Genie!
      i’m preparing right now for super bowl sunday
      by loading up the kayak
      for a quiet, empty (of other boats) experience!
      wishing you a wonderful, nature moment 🙂

      Reply
  9. francisguenette

    I loved these words – And given our same age,
    am I as classic, shiny & muscular
    as that colorful Chevy?
    Colourful cars chase through my thoughts,
    Purple, pink, green, blue and red.
    They roar along the paths of my mind
    And oh to what memories they have led.
    I am sixteen years old, an A&W carhop hooking a tray on the window of that colourful car.
    A tall glass of frothy root beer tips over into the driver’s lap.
    Ooops. Sorry.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      i appreciate your kind reflection, francis!
      and oh, bringing back that memory
      of too fast colorful chevy (yes, the one where i got my one and only speeding ticket) and of course the root beer all over the pants & front seat. Those were the days 🙂
      ps: being so fresh, i thought you much younger!

      Reply
  10. litebeing

    “When we meditate, we practice looking deeply in order to bring light and clarity into our way of seeing things. When the vision of no-self is obtained, our delusion is removed. This is what we call transformation.” ~Thich Nhat Hanh

    Love this quote and the rainbow of images 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

