Driving Karma with Younger Self

The highway’s jammed with broken heroes on a last chance power drive
Everybody’s out on the run tonight, but there’s no place left to hide ~ Bruce Springsteen, from Born to Run

tire damage ~d.nelson

tire damage ~d.nelson

His life poem’s
beginning now happy,
well, happier than it was.
Thank you dear Younger Self
for surviving to tell harrowing tales
from hard knocks driving school.

No matter how fast you went
someone would always go faster.
No matter how crazy you got
someone always went crazier.
Without luck & good fortune
you would have driven your karma
over the bluff, like those other
rebels without a cause.

Now experiencing joy while driving,
we are arriving, relaxingly
with each calm breath
in the present moment.
Not needing to wait
until reaching another destination
to be embraced with happiness.

So wonderful that Younger Self & I
mindfully use proper attention
to nurture inner peace & smiles.
Sitting here in nature
truly feeling tree’s & lake’s freshness.
We recognize how unwholesome thoughts
create foul weather & traffic accidents.

May we all manage
to enjoy our slowing down,
use rest stops
& reduce blowouts
on life’s sacred highway.

There is no way to happiness
happiness is the way ~ Thich Nhat Hanh

51 thoughts on “Driving Karma with Younger Self

  1. Julia Manuel

    Oh how I relate to this…it’s amazing to me that I’m still here lol. Now I truly enjoy the peace of knowing I drive safely with great respect for self and others…knowing the journey is fulfilling not just the “destination”..I don’t believe there is such a thing as having “arrived”…we are hopefully always learning…always endeavoring to be present ☺ thank you David as always a pleasure. I borrowed quote for my post this morning…it resonates deeply today. Peace & light, j

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you Julia for your kind words & sharing the quote.
      i did notice it this morning and smiled.
      i must have been blurry-eyed as I did not notice this comment until now.
      so happy you are enjoying your present moments arrivals.
      also happy that you are a considerate, safe driver
      and i won’t worry about meeting by accident 🙂

      Reply
  2. Carol A. Hand

    An engaging and elegant metaphor, David, that reminds my of my earlier self pushing my poor old Volvo (and self) to the limits, but now grateful for surviving and learning to take time to appreciate just being…

    Reply
  3. lauramacky

    Makes me think of how much I’ve slowed down in my life. I went from fast and furious to learning how to enjoy the slower times. I’m glad I survived my younger years! By all accounts I shouldn’t be here.

    Reply
  4. milliethom

    A wonderful post with a very valid message. Speed kills – a slogan I’ve seen so many times. Better late than never, too. And yes, I think we learn many lessons as we age, and driving more safely is one of them. The colour of the sky in your photos is amazing.

    Reply
  5. ChrisB

    Wonderfullly put. Thank you showing kindness to your younger self, somewhat like mine, and so reminding me to be kind to myself also on the road to nowehere

    Reply
  6. Sonnische

    Love it! Our younger selves had a lot to learn from the likes of us, but we weren’t there yet. It’s that old saw, if I knew then what I know now…. We are where we are when we are, always,

    Reply
  7. Michael

    Sublime, David! I loved the way you thanked your younger self for making it through, and then put your arm around him. Yeahhhh…. This is how we do it, my Younger Self and I. My Younger Self I’m so proud of. Such a beautiful being opening up to the slow time rhythm of happiness… Every one of us is the culmination of our Younger Self’s turn to mindfulness, and how could we not be stunningly, profoundly grateful for that unprecedented choice!?

    Peace
    Michael

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thanks Michael for expressing my relationship to Younger Self so sublimely happy!
      Fortunately he held up despite moving recklessly in between lanes.
      I was so much older then,
      I’m younger than that now.
      Mindfulness has been a tonic
      for youthful thoughts & energy
      despite having a body
      with its nature of growing old 🙂

      Reply
      1. ~meredith

        (one more awesome from the peanut gallery–not mine, but it was a rousing cheer)

        speaking of peanuts… i always meant to ask if you got to skate for free at the skating rink (C. Schultz ice rink); i’ve never been to visit, and never learned whether free ice skating succeeded as part of the plan. maybe not, i realized.
        🙂

      2. smilecalm Post author

        thank you meredith!
        yes, surviving ice skating at snoopy’s rink
        happened several times (while in high school).
        i don’t recall the admission cost
        other than physical & emotional bruises 🙂

      3. ~meredith

        bless your heart. ice is a hard lover
        to spiral with. i chose flight through dance–less shattering to the tailbone, but wow…i sure loved flying with ice. 🙂

  8. marga t.

    I’m looking forward to learning to drive a kayak
    on the river ways in my young/old age. Is that yours strapped there?
    Your words and photos always give me such a nice pausing, and smiling, breather!

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for your gentle kindness, marga!
      yes, that’s my fun, paddling meditation tool
      ready to launch in a present moment 🙂
      may you find yourself on peaceful waters.

      Reply
  9. RMW

    Too bad our younger selves could not have slowed down and enjoyed the view… life would have been so much better…. but at least all of us here survived to appreciate the peace in the now.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for your kind reflection, RMW!
      wonderful that we lived to tell the tale
      & now can dwell happily & slowly
      in the present moment 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

