Heart of the World

“In mindfulness one is not only restful and happy, but alert and awake.
Meditation is not evasion; it is a serene encounter with reality.” ~ Thích Nhất Hạnh
above the water

above the water

So this sister says to me,
with her heart heavy and eyes sad,
that the big company
plans to drill holes
and inject toxic chemicals
at super high pressure into the ground
corrupting the water supply
& fracturing underground rock
while extracting natural gas.

So we sat together
contemplating
the drought
here in earthquake country.
Our collective insight is that water
is too sacred to poison
any more.
Helping protect the children
of the future
must be done, now.

a redwood

a redwood ~ d nelson

So I sat down and wrote this song entitled “heart of the world”. The lyrics and recording is below

May we live in harmony with the world so that a future is possible
It’s simple seeing myself
connected to everything else, yes it is
letting my eyes be windows, windows to the heart
heart of the world beating inside me

It’s simple to openly care
protecting life-giving water and air, yes it is
letting my eyes be windows, windows to the heart,
heart of the world beating inside me

It’s simple living with grace
preserving surroundings for all children to embrace, yes it is

the forests and mountains, rivers and seas
shout out show us the love!

It’s simple to love animals & birds
to be truly present, to touch the earth, yes it is
letting my eyes be windows, windows to the heart
heart of the world beating inside me

May we live in harmony with the world so that a future is possible!

Hope you like it!

I’ll be on a retreat in nature, in trees and along a creek.
Will share my experience with blogging friends when I return on-line.

41 thoughts on “Heart of the World

  1. LadyPinkRose

    David, how this post put tears in my eyes and my Heart up in my throat. OH, yes, how simple it is … LOVE. *goosebumps* May the destruction of this Beautiful Planet stop, just stop. We need to learn how to coexist with ALL that we are connected to. Bless you and your sister for walking the Higher Road. Love, Amy

    Reply
  2. JoAnne

    “Water is too sacred to poison anymore.” I love that. Water is sacred. I believe God must love water a lot, because there is sooooooo much of it here on this paradise of creation. The song is beautiful, light and important, all at the same time. The images are perfect!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Heart of the World | Living is Not Mental Illness

  4. Carl D'Agostino

    “Helping protect the children
    of the future
    must be done, now.”

    My heart cries out as far too many are trampled and demoralized by war and terror. Thanks visit my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

