Go Fly A Kite!

Every day we are engaged in a miracle which we don’t even recognize: a blue sky, white clouds, green leaves, the black, curious eyes of a child — our own two eyes. All is a miracle. ~Thich Nhat Hanh

watch out 4 the barn ~e macdougall

watch out 4 the barn ~e macdougall

Voice on phone’s other end sounding weak & shaken;
she’d be unable to attend our planned rendezvous.
Efforts at consoling & reassuring
met with pained silence.
Even after decades I recall a feeling
of being told where to go.

When the 10, or so, year old boy
cycled toward me where my bike
was locked at the market, I smiled
until he got off & tossed his bike
right up against mine.
As politely as possible, I ask,
“what’s up with that?”
He unabashedly
told me where to go.

yes strings attached

yes strings attached

Walking to pay the water bill
at the downtown city building
a young woman timidly circles
flowing fountain’s waters, then sits
with her feet in dancing coolness.
Looking embarrassingly shaken
seeing me witness her picking out
meager shiny coinage tossed along its bottom.
I pull out all the change in my backpack
handing it to her, wishing her safety,
misperceiving she’s telling me where to go.

A good tired from my day out
with its realization
that with forgiveness
in my heart for those who
hurt me during this lifetime
& forgiveness for myself
for hurting others,
I became light as a cloud.

I’m now able to hear
where others have been
telling me to go all these years,
wanting me to find freedom
wherever I was.
May they, too,
& may we all
soar!

For a little music from Mary Poppins for your flight
click here

58 thoughts on “Go Fly A Kite!

  1. JoAnne

    It’s funny what we remember. I love what you’ve done here. I love the feeling of freedom in the last photo, and how you got there!

    Reply
  2. Alison and Don

    Thanks David. This is a lovely piece on the freedom that comes from understanding the movements of The Mystery. It reminds me of something that most of the great teachers have said, along the lines of “everything is an invitation to awaken”.
    Alison

    Reply
  3. milliethom

    A wonderful journey toward a liberating realisation. And how perfectly your excellent photos of flight illustrate the concept of freedom. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      i’m happy to hear your eloquent writer’s description of this kite outing, milliethom!
      may you be free like the breeze πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Tom's Nature-up-close Photography and Mindfulness Blog

    The following is a link to a video of me flying my stunt kite. The accompanying music is what I composed… and I am playing it all myself. (It takes a long time and a lot of commitment to get to fly like that, needless to say.)

    Always wear decent sunglasses while flying. Decent sunglasses must be UVA and UVB blocking; they must also block blue light. Blue light causes retinal damage. I wear two pair of sunglasses (one over the other) when I fly. Wishing you good winds!

    Reply
  5. Sonnische

    Wonderful post, David! I just shared it with my husband, because he just told me how he wakes up thinking miserably of mistakes he has made in his life. I said, next time tell yourself, “I forgive you, you probably did the best you knew to do at the time. Let it go.” And then I read him some of what you wrote. You are a being of great light, and I thank you for your friendship. NamastΓ©, Sunny

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for this kind awareness that you and your husband were supported, Sunny!
      Perhaps you’ll both enjoy getting out with some string & let the past go with the wind πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. Vicki

    A good lesson on forgiveness.

    One can truly only be hurt, when the Mind allows that Hurt in.
    Smiling and rising above the Hurt allows it to slowly meander along past (into the Past).

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for your kind words, Vicki. I enjoy your way of saying “rising above the hurt.” May your kite soar, joyfully πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. francisguenette

    Ah … so beautiful – the tears fill my eyes at the power of messages sending us to and fro. I have suffered through messages I translate – go fly a kite. Could it be they really wish this for me? I will take them at their word and soar free.

    Reply
  8. Michael

    You take us through a whole life with ease, David, and leave us all feeling as light as clouds. I love the moments when the freedom inside of us re-frames every snapshot of the past we’ve been carrying around with us. Suddenly, regardless of what happened or what we thought happened, we realize every possible type of cloud has dissolved into such a sky…

    Michael

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      vividly beautiful expression
      of possibilities implied, Michael!
      now i feel free to let go
      of the string & experience
      where the wind blows πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. greenlakeblue

    Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could all fly our hurts away, in light and forgiveness? πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  10. JC

    Forgive oneself and forgive others, it is easy. I think most have trouble forgiving themselves and thus place blame on others, a terrible circle. I will now go and fly my kite… Thank you!

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      wonderful insight, JC!
      kids I’ve taught get the wisdom of forgiveness. if only those habits of holding on, softened…in the meantime
      see you out in the vast blue sky πŸ™‚

      Reply
  11. ShethP

    It is so easy to be misunderstood. But this kind of insight can go a really long way to make sure we learn to let go. Thanks for this post. The kites are beautiful, by the way. It must have been a joy to fly them! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank ShethP for your insightful words!
      it’s joyful to be with the kite
      because it seems to understand me
      as it soars & plays in the breeze πŸ™‚

      Reply
  12. LadyPinkRose

    Oh, David, how Heart touching this post is!! I haven’t flown a kite since a kid, and now that YOU have given me the idea, I do believe I shall find me a kite and fly it. Yes, how powerful forgiveness is, yet, to remember the “lesson” is the wise thing to do. (smile) Love, Amy ❀

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      i hear a kite calling your name, “Amy”!
      i see a field clear of obstacles
      with an expanse of windy sky
      in your future πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. LadyPinkRose

        Dearest David, you have brought hot tears to these eyes. Bless you for the words you speak over me. I accept them and Love them. (((HUGS))) Amy ❀

  13. Healing Grief

    A wonderful analogy of letting go. As the kite flies lightly against the wind, so does our soul when we are able to forgive and let go. Beautiful writing David. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      i appreciate you kind words
      out here on the playground, Grief Healer!
      by the way, after letting go of the string
      have you seen which way
      my kite blew ? πŸ™‚

      Reply
  14. islandrain2013

    My heart
    soars open
    In wide open
    Spaces
    Letting go
    Of all the pain
    Suffering isn’t
    Enough…
    Compassion
    Heals all the
    Memories
    As my heart soars

    Your piece is gently encouraging and I thank you for your flying and uplifting words David. Well done. ❀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

