Fear Overcome by Love

friends supportively walking ~d nelson

Gasping to breathe,
to take that first breath.
Our original fear
overcome by being blessed
with a healthy, functioning body
& heart’s pure will to live.

retreat friends ~d nelson

Feeling my heart now
immersed in love.
Held by my friend’s love.
Grateful for the capacity
to love & recognize love
of myself & other relations
of the people, animal, plant & mineral world.
Offering my gratitude by sending out
loving-kindness, compassion & love
to my loved ones &
to all in the ten directions.

thank you for the food, the cooks, and all the conditions ~d nelson

It’s wonderful what being with friends
can do to one’s heart/mind
to help remind us of our capacity
of love to overcome the energy
of fear, anger & despair.
Using an opposite reaction,
go towards fear, rather than away
when recognizing unnecessary fear.
Overcoming ancient programming
with present moment skillfulness.
With the support of friends on the path
and a vast, loving heart,
fearlessness is possible
with each mindful breath.

mindful hugging

I go among trees and sit still.
All my stirring becomes quiet around me
like circles on water.
My tasks lie in their places where I left them
asleep like cattle.
Then what is afraid of me comes
and lives a while in my sight.
What it fears in me leaves me
and the fear of me leaves it.
It sings and I hear its song.
Than what I am afraid of comes.
I live for a while in its sight.
What I fear in it leaves it
and the fear of it leaves me.
It sings and I hear its song.
By: Wendell Berry

53 thoughts on “Fear Overcome by Love

      1. smilecalm Post author

        it’s wonderful to recognize our needs!
        some benefit from more taking refuge in silence. others benefit from the refuge offered in sharing words šŸ™‚

  1. Marneymae

    This is perfect timing to read
    A dear one is in the process of leaving his body… Now only with breath.
    Thank you for your practice
    Deep bow to you

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for sharing your beautiful gratitude! was a wonderful retreat into friendship through fearlessness. may we all feel befriended šŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for recognizing
      my retreat’s beauty, jurnal!
      may your day be a refreshing
      retreat, with warmth & cool breezes šŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Michael

    Thank you for these beautiful words and images, David. I felt like you brought us into that circle somehow. It felt good to witness and share and to be reminded of moments like these and their value in supporting one another. Eggs and peanut butter and chocolate cake. Pony tails and sparkling eyes and loading zones. Everything so simple. So simply real. You’ve inspired the deepest breath of satisfaction I’ve had all day!

    Love,
    Michael

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you, dear Michael
      for simply expressing how things were
      on the posted faces, hugs & tables
      with clear, kind words!
      i’m happy you like it.
      had hot, brown & plenty of it
      been served i would have been nourished
      & happy,
      but having an experienced zen priest cook offering gourmet vegetarian
      vegetables, as well as chocolate cake,
      strawberries & coconut milk
      was bordering on the unmindful.
      just because we’re meditating
      doesn’t mean we have to suffer
      from “boring” meals šŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. niasunset

        This is wonderful post… peace with beautiful minds… love and hugs with smile… I wished to be there too dear Smilecalm. And I love Wendell Berry’s poems… Always reaches my world in my heart. Thank you, love, nia

    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you GMLA for again
      offering your kind words!
      while the feelings vary
      it’s wonderful knowing that they can
      be so beautiful, even on purpose šŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. milliethom

    Your pictures show all the wonderful things associated with the Retreat – the friedship and comradeship shown to each other that is heartwarming. All those people offer support, kindness and compassion to each other. It’s lovely to see people sharing happy moments together, as well as the sad ones. A lovely, poignant last section to your poem.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      when i returned after the retreat
      & saw the happy images
      i knew they should be shared!
      now happiness continues
      as you’re part of the chorus, Audrey šŸ™‚

      Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you, laura!
      while i’m also more of a loner,
      being with others has helped
      slowly transform
      seemingly stuck energies
      into sunshine.
      may your bay area day
      be warm & pleasant
      inside & out šŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. lauramacky

        You’re welcome and thank YOU! I consciously make efforts to reach out. I’m extremely outgoing here and in person…I am exactly who you see here except I don’t trust. I’m working on it though. šŸ™‚ It’s too windy to be warm and pleasant on the outside today though! lol

  4. ShethP

    It’s positively uplifting to see the cheerful, happy energy radiate through your words and photographs! šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing. Have an amazing day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

