Nature’s Lake of Youth

Walk as if you are kissing the Earth with your feet ~Thich Nhat Hanh

yosemite young lake sunset ~d nelson

Yosemite young lake sunset ~d nelson

Still feeling happiness & healing
from weeks in nature’s embrace,
a song is coming into form.

But, as it’s still ripening
I’ll share a glimpse
of last week’s Yosemite images
& a nature inspired song
written back in the 70’s
when I was a little younger, about 20.
I believe it was a proclamation
at the time
about not wishing to
live in a little box
on a hillside
made of ticky-tacky.

yosemite young lake

Yosemite young lake

My Insanity

The banging of the pans (against the backpack)
let me know I was alive
climbing up the mountain
searching for the sky.

Battered by endless concerns
when all they really care
is getting where they’re going
when it isn’t even there.

Shaking in the snow
stretching by the fire
wondering how far I’ve advanced
each night as I retire.
And you know
the good that I’m doing might not be seen
we’re all learning what we mean.
By getting away
I regain my insanity.

Melting snow to get a drink
by a crackling open fire.
Searching out surrounding hills
distant echo is heard
of wild birds who
call this mountain home.

A pack can get old and dusty
when it’s challenged by a trail.
But when I depart for society
my soul is still at full sail,
our soul’s are at full sail.

Shaking in the snow
stretching by the fire
wondering how far I’ve advanced
each night as I retire.
And you know
the good that I’m doing might not be seen
we’re all learning what we mean.
By getting away
I regain my insanity.

49 thoughts on “Nature’s Lake of Youth

  1. niasunset

    Even at my desk to watch through your poetical words, how comes nice… I can’t imagine to be there… So beautiful, fascinated me. Thank you, while the sun is going to leave us, you will catch the sun there…Day be yours πŸ™‚ Love, nia

    Reply
  2. The GMLA

    I was raised camping in the Sierras. I hope you visit Cedar Grove, Kings canyon. It is my favorite. Nature calms me too.

    Reply
  3. Hariod Brawn

    Marvellous imagery, just as everyone has already said David, and I’m pleased to hear you’ve had a wonderful time out in nature. May I ask, have the Yosemite lake levels dropped much in the past couple of years?

    With metta, Hariod.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thanks for kindly hiking along with me, Hariod! The high, natural lakes I encountered only seemed down a bit, perhaps 20%. Reservoirs down lower are very low, though. Wishing you happy wonders in nature πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. milliethom

    Such beautiful photos. Yosemite looks totally stunning and I’m glad you had an amazing time there. If it made you feel young again, then it must be a very special place. Lovely poem, too. I really like the phrase ‘climbing up the mountain, searching for the sky’, and the repeat of the third verse is very effective. Thank you for the uplifting post, David. It made me feel young again just reading it.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you millie
      for your kind reflection
      on the calm, young lake!
      was enjoyable to remember
      the inspired words written
      long ago about backpacking
      in the mtns of Japan πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. milliethom

        Mountains are the most inspirational of places, especially when interspersed with lakes. We have nothing as grand and vast as some of your mountain regions, smilecalm, but we have the Scottish Highlands, the Welsh Mountains and the Lake District. Anyway, your post was beautiful, particularly the calm young lake. πŸ™‚

      2. smilecalm Post author

        After living in the Netherlands, I see
        the all of Europe as a single body
        nearly the size of the USA.
        Now you have Alps, deserts
        & warm beaches πŸ™‚

      3. milliethom

        Looked at in that way, you are so right! I suppose we (i.e. Europe) ought to think of ourseves as a single unit. I’ve beeen to the Alps and agree, they are magnificent and the beaches quite wonderful. Thank you for that, David. πŸ™‚

  5. Michael

    Beautiful images and many souls a-soothed, David… This line from your recent past stuck to me: we’re all learning what we mean. I love this sentiment. I was writing something similar just the other day, thinking on this very idea. It’s a start to recognize we do mean something, that we do have some meaning within us to offer. That knowing encourages a little fishing around, and the making of our curious offerings to the trails… πŸ™‚

    Peace
    Michael

    Reply
  6. Jet Eliot

    Quietly delightful post ~~ the photos are lovely and your poem is moving. “Our souls at full sails” and “We’re all learning what we mean” are my favorite lines.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for your kind words regarding my renewed song from ’77, Jet. think i’ll pull out the guitar and explore the melody to find what I meant πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. AmyRose🌹

        So wishing I had been there, David …. How I need a refuel right now, yet my Life binds me to those whose care I am committed to. I “felt” the renewal at your post. ❀

      2. AmyRose🌹

        And this, David, is why I blog. I have found here at WP more friendship and more support then I have in “real Life”. Thank you, dear friend. Love, Amy ❀

Leave a Reply

