Follow the Cones

Do such sweet words poetically expressed
upon touching heart’s inner sanctuary
inspire loving thoughts, words & deeds,
or not?

cone leaders 2 ~d nelson

cone leaders 2 ~d nelson

Sometimes I need bold, clearer instructions,
which act as safety cones along the road
backed by highway patrol officer’s enforcement.
Bright orange traffic cones
offering guidance for wise, safe passage.
Because who wants to get hurt?

I witnessed Thich Nhat Hanh
compassionately offering firm words of mindfulness,
Breathe, that’s an order!
And though not the same as “Smile, breathe and go slowly”,
still poetic to my heart,
while clearer to this retired
public health officer’s mind –
that stopping,
returning
to the present moment,
aware of what is happening,
assessing what has happened,
& what may come to pass
is essential, necessary, of utmost importance
for a future to be possible
for all living things, including people.

cone leaders ~d nelson

cone leaders ~d nelson

Do travel carefully, dear friends
with your loved ones & neighbors
along life’s fragile path
taking heed of the cones
that are offering clear signs
of what is up ahead.
After viewing these orange cones
this post leaves you with tender poetry.

When and Why
When I bring you coloured toys, my child, I understand why there
is such a play of colours on clouds, on water, and why flowers are
painted in tints-when I give coloured toys to you, my child.
When I sing to make you dance, I truly know why there is music
in leaves, and why waves send their chorus of voices to the heart
of the listening earth-when I sing to make you dance.
When I bring sweet things to your greedy hands, I know why
there is honey in the cup of the flower, and why fruits are
secretly filled with sweet juice-when I bring sweet things to your greedy hands.
When I kiss your face to make you smile, my darling, I surely
understand what pleasure streams from the sky in morning light, and
what delight the summer breeze brings to my body-when I kiss you
to make you smile. ~Rabindranath Tagore

35 thoughts on “Follow the Cones

  1. Jet Eliot

    Your posts always encourage me to breathe, my friend, and this time I breathe with safety and sureness. Thank you. It seems somewhat appropriate to add to your pylon post, that there is a new NFL activity this season, called the “pylon cam.” It’s a camera built into the pylon for better boundary viewing. Funny world, isn’t it? 😀

    Reply
  2. Hariod Brawn

    Thank you for these conical explorations David. Your ‘bold, clearer instructions’ can be the best of communicative ways, yet I feel they need the contrast of other imagery so as to make their message stand out. As I drive along the major highways here in England, I am often struck by the overwhelming amount of data and information that vies for my attention, paradoxically drawing it away from the most vital task at hand. It seems that over time such messages are added to, layer upon layer as it were, so that in the end all clarity dissolves and they end up being self-defeating. Only the middle way is effective.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for your wise counsel, Hariod!
      when driving in busier environs than this rural area I live
      it can be overwhelming discerning the route from the distractions and safely maneuver the road. I’m with you,
      if all else fails
      stay in the middle of the road 🙂

      Reply
  3. Healing Grief

    Signs are everywhere to see and help guide us along our journey David. Sometimes they need to shouted from the rooftop to be heard. Sometimes it is a quiet voice in the wind that speaks deeply to our heart. Beautiful words from Tagore.

    Reply
  4. Michael

    I think it can be good to be jolted once in a while. To wake us up and cause us to pay attention. We can take things for granted, and then a little shake-up can do us some good. I once had a teacher yell at me to jump out of the way. A tractor attachment had come loose from the hitch and I was standing in it’s trajectory. Sometimes love must be both as urgent and simple as possible…

    Michael

    Reply
  5. John Coleman

    Love the stop sign AND the instruction! As usual, encountering the ridiculous and sublime with equal mindfulness. Peace, John

    Reply
  6. ShethP

    Love the insightful analogy you have painted here. Am also glad I had the opportunity to read one more of Tagore’s beautiful works!
    And, by the way. the photographs of the cones, when seen in context with your words, automatically seem to emanate a peaceful aura. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Aquileana

    “Smile, breathe and go slowly” is certainly a great motto…. Thanks for this inspirational post…
    Have a beautiful day… Sending best wishes. Aquileana 🐉☀️

    Reply
  8. Sarah

    This old, tired person appreciates cones sometimes too. Thanks for waking me up again. And many thanks for sharing the beautiful poem, which also opened my eyes unexpectedly. 🙂

    Reply
  9. Corinne Shields

    Thanks for stopping by to visit and now I have followed you home. Animals teach us so much, don’t they? I am sharing some space with my lovely dog, Charlie. He is sleeping peacefully and reminding me how nice it is just to be. And taking time out from a busy life just to be makes all the difference.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

