Why Be Mad when it’s Fall?!

Summer ends, and Autumn comes, and he who would have it otherwise would have high tide always and a full moon every night; and thus he would never know the rhythms that are at the heart of life. ~Hal Borland

soaring above fall ~d nelson

soaring above fall ~d nelson

Upon warm colors I glance
bringing me joy at the sight
undeterred by
the recognition
that there is little time left
in this temporal season.

today's oily route home ~d nelson

today’s oily route home ~d nelson

Disrupting my otherwise perfect
subjective amble across town
an oily, smelly obstructed road.
Momentarily, feelings of road
rage sprouts-up inside.
How shall I put an end to this anger?

Again glancing down at the beauty
while soaring above,
pleasant feeling arises.
That is until a passing driver
quickly turns, veering right
towards me innocently
peddling my bike in the bike lane.
Heart beating fast, despite efforts
at calm breaths.
How shall I put an end to this anger?

Being hit by an arrow causes much pain.
But I’m reminded that being hit by the second arrow
is not twice, but at least 10 times more painful.
The harsh words given me when young
have continued to cause wounding
in body, heart, mind & spirit
for many years.
Suffering’s blow now sufficient & embraced
for true compassion’s cultivation.

Beautiful leaves awaken my realization
that the time to cool the flames
of anger, compassionately
is now, or never.
My calm contentment & perhaps your’s too
can use supportive encouragement,
from time to time.
Reminders of times passing,
leaves falling & times coming.
Nature’s reoccurring cycle
dynamically in motion.

fall oak acorn

fall oak acorn

A delightful wisdom teaching
which has provided candlelight to myself & others
from the darkness of fear & anger
is being offered here for you.
Mindful, meditation friends & I
read this ancient healing & restorative teaching,
5 compassionate ways to end anger, below.
(I read the second bit)
We hope you enjoy & benefit from it,
to become awareness, itself,
to courageously soar as the bird in the top image.
May we look for the message of this season
with wisdom & eyes of compassion.

This blog’s next post will be an account of an upcoming, sweet mindfulness retreat!

“From time to time, to remind ourselves to relax and be peaceful, we may wish to set aside some time for a retreat, a day of mindfulness, when we can walk slowly, smile, drink tea with a friend, enjoy being together as if we are the happiest people on Earth.” ~Thich Nhat Hanh
48 thoughts on “Why Be Mad when it’s Fall?!

      1. AmyRose🌹

        I hope all is well with you, David. Your voice sounds heavy. It has been a very difficult time for many. I pray that these trials are over soon. Peace, my friend.

      2. smilecalm Post author

        thank you for your thoughtfulness, Amy. here i thought my voice calm and relaxed. nevertheless, we’ll both see how i do when presented in court 🙂

      3. AmyRose🌹

        David, there come times in our lives when Life presents us with situations that by far, if given half a chance, we would rather not experience. These are the Gifts in disguise where opportunties are given us to grow, to bring out and define portions of ourselves we really did not know about, and/or to gain a deeper understanding of the strengths we do possess. Know all is Good, and is in Perfect Order. Do your very best to stay calm, Centered, and make sure you take time for YOU to find quiet and solitude, in whatever form that represents. I only wish you the very best of what Life has to offer. Stay strong, my friend. ❤

  1. jurnul

    You are so brave riding a bike, when there are so many angry and frantic drivers on the road. But such inner strength we build from learning how to manage that anger in our own lives!

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thanks for your kind understanding, jurnul. fortunately cycling around here is more pleasant and safer than more congested places lived. breathing in, it’s ok, now 🙂

      Reply
  2. Healing Grief

    Such a moving post David. Beautiful quotes and thoughts, and how to work with our anger. rather than against it. “enjoy being together as if we are the happiest people on Earth.” It really is up to us. Thankyou for the wisdom you bring.

    Reply
  3. Hariod Brawn

    What a dreadful and pointlessly redundant contraction of mind anger is David. That seems a rather unfashionable viewpoint, as we are all urged in the New Age nostrums we read to ‘let our anger out’, as if it were some pernicious venom necessarily residing and perpetuating endlessly within us. It is rather like many who claim to be depressed (not clinically, but self-diagnosed), and yet when caught smiling, if only fleetingly, will deny that in that moment there simply was no depressive state; it too arises and passes away constantly, just as anger may, or may not.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for your clear expression on anger, Hariod! my experience is that it happens, whether i like it or not. recognizing it as a few embers has helped me create fewer forest fires. perhaps there can be a padded room where we can go and let anger just be itself 🙂

      Reply
  4. Cate

    Another lovely post. I am a huge fan of fall, and — I admit– a sometimes fan of anger, in instance where it clarifies, energizes and helps set boundaries. It’s anger that lingers or festers that is problematic. The first type of person in the dharma video –the one whose kind talk does not match his/her actions –is the most difficult for me, because the dissonance is a type of dishonesty, which, in itself, can be provoking. I try to avoid such people when I can — a reflection of my limited wisdom, perhaps, as much as their limited integrity.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for offering helpful, revealing words, Cate! when the buttons unique to us get pushed, hopefully there’s a way to get them unstuck, cause they’re gonna get pushed 🙂

      Reply
  5. Michael

    Hi David,

    I enjoyed your writing here, and recognized those feelings of being on the bike, ambushed by a mechanical bull. There seem so many kinds of anger– the kind that flashes quickly to life like sulfur when a fly lands on the sandwich or a self-tapping screw keeps falling of the drill, the kind that burrows in and festers because of the way things have been for so long and that always has something to point out to someone else, and a kind that is hardly noticeable, so long as we’re not seeking to push beyond it’s authority into those new waters. I like what you say about this being the moment to cool the flames, and yes we all need some encouragement. We all need compassion for the for the moments when anger leaps out from behind the clouds to frighten us…

    Peace
    Michael

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for your sweet supportive encouragement, Michael!
      these sentiments being so much more
      like a colorfully wise monarch butterfly
      than a dirty, not wanting to know where its been,
      housefly 🙂

      Reply
  6. Val Boyko

    A beautiful post filled with so much wisdom. Thank you David for sharing your soothing voice with us.
    The last line is still with me.
    The lesson for me in this lovely season for is to embrace the light and let go. 🍁

    Reply
  7. sunherisufi

    “Letting go gives us freedom, and freedom is the only condition for happiness. If, in our heart, we still cling to anything – anger, anxiety, or possessions – we cannot be free” ( Thích Nhất Hạnh.) But it is very difficult, non ? Loved the colors in this. And I found out that your name is David 🙂

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      perhaps it’s only difficult
      until we become Buddhas!
      as people we’re likely to remain attached to things. nevertheless,
      we can still enjoy the dance,
      whatever the music 🙂

      Reply
      1. sunherisufi

        So Tagore said ‘ DELIVERANCE is not for me in renunciation. I feel the embrace of freedom in a thousand bonds of delight.

        Thou ever pourest for me the fresh draught of thy wine of various colours and fragrance, filling this earthern vessel to the brim.

        My world will tight its hundred different lamps with thy flame and place them before the altar of thy temple.

        No, I will never shut the doors of my senses. The delights of sight and hearing and touch will bear thy delight.

        Yes, all my illusions will burn into illumination of joy, and all my desires ripen into fruits of love.” 🙂

  8. megdekorne

    Thought provoking in such a beautiful way , your poetry , the video , the gorgeous photos , I enjoyed your soulful writing and wish to follow ( I liked your comment on Michaels post ) …blessings and love , megxxx

    Reply
  9. islandrain2013

    Letting the anger and fear
    Fall like the leaves
    Upon the ground
    Even then there
    Is a beauty
    As they teach us
    In Whispers.

    Thank you for sharing the wisdom of your experience my friend. ❤ 🙂

    Reply
  10. Genie

    The problem I have with spiritual paths, is that they deny feelings, there are reasons for anger, I find it helpful to discover the root cause of anger, often it’s a friend telling me what it is I need, such as removing toxic people from my life.
    Anger that is healthy, is always specific.

    What I practice in my life, is not being in reaction, then only, anger is my friend, because when I observe anger and allow myself to feel it, I notice what it is that I feel hurt about, and often, I’m able to remove the hurtful the pain that anger arose from.

    Recently, someone went for my jugular vein emotionally, via nasty words, I felt the hurt and resulting anger that a friend would act in such a way, instead of settle differences peaceably; by allowing myself to feel hurt and angry, I stayed within the observer, thus, I responded with kindness, and boundaries, I learned that I do not wish to be around people who have severe alcohol and/or substance abuse, for there is no reasoning nor negotiating with alcoholics because their moods and agreements are affected by thier addictions.

    I value emotions, in all of their many facets, it’s loaded and obsessive anger that is toxic.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for fully expressing on anger, Genie. I certainly would not want to be on some kind of path that denies what is natural, as we are made of body, feelings, perceptions, thoughts & consciousness. may your day be filled with peaceful moments 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

