post #200: Over the Falls

Big Sur's McWay falls touches the Pacific ~d nelson

Big Sur’s McWay falls touches the Pacific ~d nelson

A reflection from here;
my place in this
quickly flowing tributary.

N Cal falls-4

N Cal falls-4

It has taken some years
to accumulate 200 posts
on this blog which has posted no
more than once a week.
I’ve immeasurably enjoyed your posts
which inspire hope of love
& healing in me & so many others.
Regrets that I don’t get
on-line more often to see
all the beauty you’ve displayed.
Somehow I’m more drawn
to being out in nature,
sitting, walking, pedaling;
away from this computer.

TNH calligraphy

TNH calligraphy

There are so many wonders
of life we continue discovering,
in each moment.
How awesome when it
gets perceived as fresh & new,
despite it’s
sweet & sad
extension
of dark & light energies.

Thank you for continuing
to stop by for a few calm breaths
perusing my words & images,
perhaps with relaxing tea
& a gentle smile.
I’m grateful to have your
companionship as we go
towards our ultimate rendezvous,
as we always have,
together.

N Cal falls-2

N Cal falls-2

Going as a river,
even in this drought season,
aware of approaching falls
& the unalterable
return to the sea
from which we’ve
never been separate.

Our sea that has forever
supported an
abundance of living beings
without discrimination
on this fragile
ball in space.

Meditation is not to escape from society, but to come back to ourselves and see what is going on.  Once there is seeing, there must be acting.  With mindfulness, we know what to do and what not to do to help. ~Thich Nhat Hanh

68 thoughts on “post #200: Over the Falls

  1. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature

    This is such a beautiful post. The pictures and your words took me to a lovely place in my heart. You must have really hiked around that waterfall to get all those great shots. It reminds me very much of a beach I love on Kauai. After swimming with dolphins in the sea, it was always nice to rinse off in the fresh waterfall. Ahhhhhh. Thank you for this.
    Congratulations on your 200th post! I am so glad to have read at least the most recent ones. I am happy to have connected with you.
    Peace
    Mary

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      Thank you for strolling along the falls
      so kindly with me, Mary. Someday I’ll experience those warm waters & dolphins you’ve shared. May your day be fresh and new, david 🙂

      Reply
  2. Hariod Brawn

    A delicious blend of words and imagery David, and I was reminded of when I lived on Dartmoor, here in England, and the moorland river ran right beneath my bedroom window – such wonderful sounds soothing the mind to sleep of an evening. Actually, it was a place called Holy Street, which rather fits with the message you convey here. What is holy? As Spinoza said, God is nature, and nature is holy.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      I’m grateful to receive gentle benefit
      of those holy flowing waters you share, Hariod.
      yes, I do believe nothing is sacred
      unless everything is so 🙂

      Reply
  3. MK

    This is the perfect post for my day. When I saw the first image my own thought was of us returning to our Source. The waterfall’s return is imminent. As you say “I’m grateful to have your companionship as we go towards our ultimate rendezvous”
    Thank you for such a beautiful post.
    ~Micheal

    Reply
  4. Jet Eliot

    A breath of fresh air, here, sc. The photos, quotes, calligraphy, all about flow–phases, movement, peace, and wholeness. Thank you for this tranquil post, and congrats on your 200th post. I have so enjoyed each and every post. 😀

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      i appreciate your kind words & visits, JC!
      may all be well & happy into the future; with or without 200 more posts 🙂 an urgent call to earth from space:

      Reply
  5. litebeing

    This post was as soothing to the soul as steaming chai tea on a rainy cold evening. Congrats on your 200th post. While I am new to the party, I much appreciate your offerings.

    Namaste,
    Linda

    Reply
  6. Healing Grief

    There is something quite sacred and serene surrounding a waterfall. Thankyou David for gently reminding us to connect to the true source of life, and for guiding us back to our inner peace and clarity. Happy 200th Post!

    Reply
  7. sara

    Just beautiful David; my parents visited Big Sur and loved it. Hopefully I will one day too! Congratulations on your 200th post, it was a cracker 🙂

    Reply
  8. Carol A. Hand

    In only 200 posts, you have touched the lives of so many people with the peace, beauty, and depth of your work, David, leaving smiles and kind words as blessings when you visited other sites. What a lovely legacy 🙂

    Reply
  9. Vicki

    Congratulations on your 200th post.
    Lovely words and images (as always).

    Wherever we live, wherever we travel, the same sun rises and shines over all of us bringing us together to share the beauty in nature.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      Thank you Vicki for these kind words
      & being a wonderful, photographic friend
      bringing me & others the sunshine & miracles over there
      to over here, in the blogosphere 🙂

      Reply
  10. Brook

    Wonderful! I always feel a little burst of happy when I receive the email that you have shared some new pictures, a bit of nature delivered in a new angle, and thoughtful words. Thanks for peddling back to the computer occasionally!

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      smiling to your kind words, Brook. like a damp, fresh stream on a dry landscape! i’m grateful to have fenders on the bike for riding in the rain 🙂

      Reply
  11. AmyRose🌹

    David, stunning post and it took me quite a while to get through .. I stared and stared in wonder and awe. I seem to be relatively on the same page as you for I have cut down on blogging choosing instead to be outdoors. I am hooked. I cannot get enough of Mother nor the wonders I constantly am seeing. Thank you for taking the time to post this. I LOVED it!! ❤

    Reply
  12. Val Boyko

    Nature brings us home … And still surprises me with the unexpected. The falls are breathtaking!
    Thank you for sharing your words and appreciation in celebration of your 200th post David. 💛

    Reply
  13. Sonnische

    200! I’m in awe of your consistency and the simple yet deeply profound words and beautiful photographs you share with us. I got out of bed with a headache and restless mind and body, and opened the iPad before trying again to sleep. Your words of continuity and of rejoining the waters speak of age and the inevitable to me tonight. Asthma has been a problem, as have migraines and the assorted aches and pains of aging. None insurmountable but sometimes adding up to an awareness of what will eventually return me to my source. But tonight the mere fact of having our apartment painted this Wednesday and all we had to do to get it ready has weighed heavily on us both here. Thank you for your amazing photographs that capture the movement of the water, David! Worth getting up for!

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for your kind, supportive words along the way, Sunny! i’m sorry to hear about those aches & pains. it’s encouraging hearing that many other conditions of happiness are present to focus on & help ease the discomfort. wishing you abundance in your happy seed garden. 🙂

      Reply
  14. ShethP

    Congratulations on your 200th post! And, if nature and the outdoors is an excuse, I think it’s for the best. 🙂 Trying to cut down on the technology usage, myself… Glad though that it introduced me to your blog! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the lovely photographs, as well… The colors really pop out!

    Reply
  15. JoAnna

    These photos are magical! Of course, I’ve always loved water. I appreciate that you only post about once a week or less. It makes it easier for me to keep up…and spend some time in nature, too! Blessings, to you, David.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      thank you for your kind camaraderie on the blogosphere and in nature, JoAnna! enjoy your time outside. i look forward to getting out into the rain that is falling right now 🙂

      Reply
  16. bruce thomas witzel

    The draw to nature is good David, and thanks for the reminder. Congrats on # 200. Powerful words to heed from Thay, as well. I’ve been meaning to post on Charles Brandt meditation group … there is a 15 min video recently produced, The Turning Point… at the end of the group, Charles reads a quote from Thay… I plan to do a post with the link sometime in the future, but thought I add it here now for you… https://vimeo.com/144577558 I …in love and peace – Bruce

    Reply
  17. robert87004

    The pace at which you post feels natural and comfortable, as well as cohesive, a theme carried forward. Quite a bit different from my scatter-gun approach. Congratulations on 200. ☺

    Reply
  18. The Crazy Crone

    Lovely images – got a favour to ask: would you mind if I worked with your nature images in my digital art? They would be quite different, as you know from looking at what I create, and I would also credit you with the original photographs. I just love working with nature around the world, really only realised recently how much nature inspires my digital art. Best wishes, Mo. (And I’ll still follow you, even if you don’t like my suggestion :D)

    Reply
  19. Pingback: Joy | THE CRAZY CRONE'S ARTY-FARTY STUDIO

Leave a Reply

