Give Much, Much More Than We Take, says Hill

Kindness in words creates confidence
Kindness in thinking creates profoundness
Kindness in giving creates love. ~Lao Tzu

Who’s Confused? ~d nelson

Sitting quietly with a perfect
view of hilltop
I was looking for a sign
of confusion.
But no matter how hard
I looked there
was no sign
of Hill being confused.

sunset clouded hill

sunset clouded hill

Stable as a mountain
firm as the earth
Hill confidently
conveyed that
it’s not the one
confused.

bridge across the Eel

In hundreds of millions of years
I’ve witnesses many beings come & go.
While most  primates scurry
around digging things up,
hoarding to themselves,
disheveling the earth,
it’s refreshing to experience
expressions of a burgeoning wisdom
which conveys the oneness of all,
softly said ancient Hill.

biggest trees of the forest

 

See how tree’s do nothing
but give; beauty, oxygen,
shelter, food, and more.
Rivers & streams seem to rush
but look deeper and see
how they flow at poetic
natural rates in a dance
with sky, mountains, earth & sea,
sharing live-giving moisture
all along their paths.

south fork’s sunset

 

Patiently I’ll await a return
to hear of lessons you’ve learned
from putting those ideas of oneness
into fruition, everyday, in every way.
Let me know specifically of your generosity
and how much, much
more is given than taken.
This non-confused Hill then smiled
inviting us primates to return
for our update
in a millennia or two.

I’ll begin now by mindfully
allowing my out breath
to be several seconds longer
than my in breath.
You’re welcome to join me
my friends.

merging streams

When we are mindful, deeply in touch with the present moment, our understanding of what is going on deepens, and we begin to be filled with acceptance, joy, peace and love. ~Thich Nhat Hanh

70 thoughts on “Give Much, Much More Than We Take, says Hill

  1. Ka Malana@Fiestaestrellas.com

    Sitting a moment where streams merge
    Grateful for no confusion.
    founded on stability and timeless,
    I breathe in the air where we merge.
    I exhale ‘peace.’ Feeling Namaste for you.
    creatively dropping blue-green thoughts
    water washing feels fresh blended,
    steady.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      after a most calm day
      at the Mendocino coast & sea
      i can now see you there
      sitting surrounded
      by the peace
      being transmitted
      by your generous
      out-breath to all
      beings, Ka 🙂

      Reply
  2. Healing Grief

    “See how tree’s do nothing
    but give; beauty, oxygen,
    shelter, food, and more.”.
    Such a moving post David. Each time I connect to the land and mountains I learn and feel something new. You live in such a beautiful part of the world. Thankyou for this meditation.

    Reply
  3. sasokisoaps

    Thankyou. Thousands of miles away, on another continent, under a hot sun blue sky, where the hills are sand, the water a glimmering ocean, and the eucalypt tree roots seek deep into the ancient aquifer for their sustenance, your writing gives me a peaceful start to the day. 😊

    Reply
  4. ivonprefontaine

    Reblogged this on Teacher as Transformer and commented:
    A great way to close the week off and head into Sabbath. I can feel myself sink into the images of filled with water, trees, and sky. When we are in the presence of someone or something, big and small, it is proper to be attentive and mindful. To be present and attentive demonstrates kindness and love for people and things that show themselves to us.

    Reply
      1. maskednative

        During an evening of local musical impromptu, I was asked this question – Are you enjoying yourself. I replied yes indeed, very much. The response was – “You only have yourself to blame.”
        Words of wisdom everywhere.

  5. AmyRose🌹

    David, you first image made me laugh out loud! And then as I read my spirit became quiet as did my breath. When you mentioned the out breath being longer the the in, you made me realize this is what I do a lot. Nice slow easy. Your pictures are stunning and just steep with the Love of the Hill and Mother. How wonderful for the Hill to know a primate understood. Thank you! ❤

    Reply
  6. Jet Eliot

    A very rich and peaceful understanding of the beauty that surrounds you, surrounds us. I went up to the eel river over the holidays, and oh how it was so powerfully flowing, and swollen; and the redwoods, that do just give and give. Lovely post my friend.

    Reply
    1. smilecalm Post author

      glad to hear you made it up this way, Jet! i was out on the river yesterday enjoying it’s mostly gentle flowing. But I remembering raging not so long ago 🙂

      Reply
  7. Pingback: Give Much, Much More Than We Take, says Hill – BLUE SUN

Leave a Reply

